top of page

Introduction: Oscar

Hello! I'm Oscar, I'm about to start my SF year [that's third year] in Single Honours Drama and Theatre Studies. That means the only subject I study is drama. I've been a Disability Service Student Ambassador since it began, so myself and that blue hoodie are well acquainted.

[what a hottie]

When I came to Trinity I had applied through DARE on my CAO, this meant I was automatically put in contact with the Disability Service here when I came that September. I used technology accommodations and a special centre during my leaving certificate because of my needs as a disabled student.

I was worried when I came to college I wouldn't be given the same supports and I'd be expected to get on with it all on my own. That has not been the case at all. I've received all the support I could wish for, and I don't see these supports as a leg ahead of my classmates, they're an equaliser. Its only fair that myself and the student next to me can achieve the same results if we put in the same amount of work, these supports help that to be the case.

Through DARE I had declared a specific disability to gain supports in exams, when I came to college I was able to talk to the disability service and add on the rest of "my story" as I've been calling it. As I found the CAO only gave me an option of claiming one disability, when that just doesn't cover everything for me.

I love college, every second of this wild ride has been amazing. I've met so many interesting and fun people, I am deeply passionate about my area of study. Unlike in school, there has yet to be a day that I don't want to be in college. Trinity is a wonderful place to learn, there is always something on, or someone to talk to, and the campus is pretty small so you'll always run into a familiar face.

As a drama student I basically live in DU Players [that's the drama society], so if you're looking for a chat try the couches in our building, I'm usually there. I spend most of my time working in theatre or art in general. I have been an editor of Rant And Rave, a poetry and art zine in trinity, for the past year. I have what is essentially a zoo in my house and I enjoy dressing up my animals and making them look ridiculous on the internet.

For the Disability Service I've been a Student Ambassador, I have done a few DARE talks in schools, I have been on the web development team for both the DS main site and for this site [look at my handiwork], I've done a few of the orientation events so you may have met me before coming to college. If you see me around campus, say hello, I love to chat.

Anyway, that's me in a nutshell, I'm sure we'll talk soon.

If the photo wasn't enough, this is what I look like when I write these or work on the website at all;

-- Oscar

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page